Friday, September 28, 2007

A life made interesting by many children!!!

My name is Danielle. I am 32 yo. Dh is Isaac, 34. We are proud parents to our 5 children. Marisa is 12, Jordan is 9, Christian is 8, Adrian is 6 and Dominic is 3. We also homeschooled for awhile, but our children are all in our parish school. I am staying home again after working for almost 2 years. Dh and I have been married for 12 years.

We live somewhere between the Red and the Rio Grande. For the out of country folks, that is in Texas:))) We like it here, but it is nearly October and we are still seeing mid 90's. (95 degrees yesterday). I like it because when we have newborns, it doesn't get way to cold out to travel to mass or different functions. We are in a smallish neighborhood in a rural area of Texas, so it is a 15 minute drive to do anything. More if you want a bigger anything, like hopsital, stores and such.

I am soooo excited to finally be here and I know that I am playing catchup since I am only getting here today. I hope to spend some time later reading more and figuring out how I am going to contribute.

Danielle, momma to 1 girl and 4 boys, in that order

Thursday, September 27, 2007

Erika's Funny Farm...

Hello to you all. I have enjoyed reading a little peek into your lives. My hubby Scott and I currently live in the Midwestern region of the US. We have 4 beautiful children, Jackson 11, Jacquelynne 9, Joseph 6, and Jenna 4. We also have 3 parakeets, 2 kitties, and 1 dog. Up until last year, I was a stay-home-homeschooling mother; but my oldest three have made a wonderful transition into the traditional classroom setting, and Jenna looks forward to joining them next year. For now, I work the overnight shift at a local hospital in the patient registration department. So, to my new friends on the other side of the globe, I am on your schedule 3 days a week. I am currently working towards my Master's degree in Public Affairs, with an emphasis in Non-Profit Administration. I have had the privilege to travel to India twice in the last 2 years with East-West Ministries International on short term ministry campaigns, and I look forward to returning there in Feb 2008 to continue the work. My husband is a regional sales manager for a locally owned, growing, family business. I enjoy paper crafting and scrapbooking, and am blessed to be a design team member with a locally owned scrapbook kit club. I have been blogging for about a year, and will continue to offer my general ramblings, on another site. I am thrilled about the opportunity to join this project, and I look forward to getting to know you all.

Wednesday, September 26, 2007

Kate's Family

Stuart and I were married fifteen years ago today in front of God and family and an entire class of balloon-clutching kindergarteners. Looking back, I guess it's appropriate we started our married life with a church full of kids as witnesses because our lives have since been overflowing with children.

We didn’t mean to become a larger than average family. It’s just that eighteen-month olds are so darn cute and “Wouldn’t it be nice to have another one. ” So two became three. Three became four. “I won’t be caught dead in a minivan,” declared my sporty husband. But then we were five and three car seats don’t squish so well across the back of a midsize sedan so we stretched out in the vehicle of Stuart's nightmares. We filled the van with number four and number five moved us into a Suburban. Stuart breathed a sigh of relief.

The Suburban travels the back roads of the Deep South. Our house is a sprawling ranch on the edge of Smallville. We drive twenty miles north each week to The Land Flowing With Milk and Honey for groceries. We drive fifty miles north to The Outer Reaches of the Earth for really good shopping. Mostly we keep the UPS guy busy because who really wants to drive a hundred miles round trip with five kids to go shopping? This move to the country has taken a bit of getting used to but I am beginning to acclimate to the slower pace. There’s more time for family.

Stuart is an engineering manager for a valve company. For as long as I’ve known him, he’s been involved in the valve industry. When we travel, Stuart identifies the manufacturer of the fire hydrants indigenous to the area by their shape and color. The children check the labels to see if he’s right and they think he’s a genius. He is calm, gentle and wise and has taught me much about parenting.

I stay home and homeschool the kids. I do other stuff, too, like laundry, grocery shopping, refereeing... mom stuff. I read my Bible in bits and pieces throughout the day and am always amazed at the way God shows Himself to me more clearly on each page. I watch the birds in the yard and wonder about the wildflowers and wildlife around me. I write late at night and walk early in the morning.

John is twelve. He has a quick wit; he’s an avid reader; he’s compassionate and incredibly creative. God has used him more than any other person or event in my life to mold my character. (I tell that story on my personal blog, Small Scribbles.)

Lauren is ten. She is beautiful, helpful, artistic and quiet. She is mature and insightful beyond her years. She and John have grown to be two of my dearest friends.

Faith is seven. She loves the whole outdoors and tries to bring it all into her bedroom…rocks, sticks, bug carcasses, toads… She is attached to things for they all hold memories. She, like John, has a huge vocabulary and a witty way with words. She is loud and strong-willed and tenderhearted.

Claire is five. She’s a planner. We are going to visit family in two months and Claire has already packed her bags. She is sensitive and helpful and artistic like Lauren. She has a volatile, laughing, crying nature.

Charlie is three though he thinks he’s ten. I’m waiting for him to be four. (Three is the only age that I like to hurry the kids through.) Stuart says Charlie has a large presence. It's an apt description.

We have a couple of animals mixed in among the children. Henrie is our oversized, shedding, black dog. The kids think it's hysterical that we named our female dog, Henrie. Allegra is the calico cat whose favorite place to sleep is on Lauren's bed. Lauren is allergic to cats.

There you have it. A peek through the blog window into our family. I am looking forward to this writing adventure at 4 or More.

Hi from A Juggling Mum

Hi, I'm Rachel. I'm an Australian mother of 5 children, Chloe (9), Clare (7), Caitlin (5), Riley (3) and Sophie (5 mths). My partner of 10 years Rob and I live in the Western Suburbs of Sydney with our not so little family.

I have been a stay at home Mum since my eldest daughter was born 9 years ago and I love it. Although some days I wish I had an out of the home job to escape to just to get away... hehehe! My partner is in the banking industry and works hard to provide for us.

My eldest 3 girls are in Kindergarten, Year 2 and Year 4 at primary school so I only have the youngest two at home with me during the day.

When I'm not cleaning the housing, looking after or playing with my family, I like to blog and make podcasts. I enjoy reading but don't get time to read as much as I would like. I was once a scrapbooker but have not had the time to do any since Riley was born. I will get back into again one day though.

I'm really looking forward to contributing to this blog and getting to know everyone :)

Signing In

Hi all, I guess I will chime in and introduce myself. My name is Jillienne, I am a young mother of four, Brenna my soccer loving 11 year old, Griffen my also soccer loving 9 year old, Kieran (KI-ran) my crazy fun-loving 6 year old, and Alainna the princess of the family who is 4. We are also in the process of adopting a child internationally, from Ethiopia. This will be our first adoption our other children are all home-grown.

My husband Brian and I live in Michigan and have been married for 11 years, yes if you do the math my oldest is 11, hmmm...... While I don't work outside the home he goes off to work everyday as a journeyman lineman, which is a fancy title for the guy that makes sure you have power. Or puts your power back on. He spent many months in Florida and Louisiana when the hurricanes came through. I am lucky that Brian loves his job and enjoys going to work. We make a pretty good team, where I am a little obsessive and temperamental and have a "slight" tendency to procrastinate, he is very laid-back and a definite go-getter and of course an excellent father.

I love to read, watch movies, play cards and endlessly try to organize my household. I spend a crazy amount of time driving my kids around and watching their sporting events. I would not say that we are a very laid back family, it seems that we are always on the go or have a project that needs to be finished. It's a crazy life but it's mine and I think I will keep it. For now anyway.

I am so excited to be here, I am very new at the whole blogging world. I am still trying to work out the kinks in my personal blog. This is something of a dream come true for me, to have other people reading something that I wrote, I would love to go back to school and really learn how to write correctly. As you will be able to tell from my posts grammar and punctuation are really not one of my strong suits! I really want to give Michelle a great big thank you for giving me the chance to do this. I can't wait to meet everyone and I am sure that we will have a great time with this project.

Hi! I'm Natalia....

I live in sunny BC, Canada with my husband and six children. Our children are Jesse (almost 15), Josiah (who passed away from a birth accident, and would be 13 now), Charis (12), Aaron (10), Lukas (8), Eli (5), and Micah (1). That's one poor, lone girl, and 6 boys! But don't bother feeling sorry for her, she's a budding actress who really holds her own! We also have a 19-year-old university student (also a boy!) from Ecuador rooming and boarding with us.

My husband is a self-employed musician (performer, recorder, and producer) who also works as the music and arts leader at our church half-time. He oversees and works with dozens of artists day to day, and if any of you are familiar with the artist temperament, you can imagine what a challenge that might be for him. Now imagine me living with HIM! LOL (It's also interesting for him living with quite an opposite in me!) Part of his self-employment involves his travelling quite regularly. For instance, at some time in the next few months he is going to Europe for three weeks. That's the longest he's been away from us for quite a while, and we are going to really miss him, as he's an exuberant and hilarious hands-on dad/husband and also does so much around the house to keep us in order. You might think he being the artist and I being the accountant type it would be the other way around, but I am sadly disorganized and need his support! So we'll see how that goes.

We are in our first owned home, and at the moment a replacement wing is being built (after a pool room collapsed), which will add three more bedrooms and a smallish recreation room. This will free up three bedrooms in the downstairs suite, we hope, for another two students. The income from this would presumably be used to help pay for the house, finishing the new wing, and groceries.

I home school three of the children, while two go to a local private school. We are members at the community centre and swim a lot. That would be our main form of exercise. My more personal interests include old home and family items, especially children's books and family photos. You can see some of them at another site I have, I would welcome any old large family photo contributions from your own archives!

Well, I've run out of inspiration for today so will end, and say thank you to Michelle and Jim for this new LOK project, and welcome to all friendly readers!